Sotomayor Would Not Concede a Right to Self-Defense

Adam Brickley
CNSNews
July 20, 2009
  • A d v e r t i s e m e n t
  • efoods

When Sen. Tom Coburn (R-Okla.) asked Wednesday whether citizens have a right to self-defense, Supreme Court nominee Sonia Sotomayor told the Senate Judiciary Committee, “I don’t know.”

Coburn had asked, “As a citizen of this country, do you believe innately in my ability to have self-defense of myself – personal self-defense? Do I have a right to personal self-defense?”

In reply, Sotomayor said that, “I’m trying to think if I remember a case where the Supreme Court has addressed that particular question. Is there a constitutional right to self-defense? And I can’t think of one. I could be wrong, but I can’t think of one.” She then went on to explain that self-defense rights are usually defined by state law.”

Read entire article

URL to article: http://www.infowars.com/sotomayor-would-not-concede-a-right-to-self-defense/

Leave a comment

Up ↑